Thursday, April 28, 2011

60 Day Check-In

Yesterday marks 60 days since I started this adventure called "MY 101," which is how I refer to it. I actually feel quite proud of myself because I was able to get several things done during this month. (If you're not sure what I did, please refer to my previous blogs)

But then I had to take a look at my "ongoing" items, things that I need to do (or not do) on a routine basis, and I was not very happy with myself. Frustrated is the exact term. While I have been going to Starbucks every week, a lot of my daily items I have been leaving on the side of the road. Why is that? Am I just lazy? Unmotivated? I'm not sure, but it is making me take a look at myself. For example, eating breakfast every day. It seems so simple, especially when I keep toaster streudels in the house. Hey, it counts. It's better than nothing. But I find myself on Facebook right up until I have to run around to get ready for work or I get so caught up in other things I seem to forget that I didn't eat breakfast. Taking my vitamins is another one. I look at them and say "Oh, I'll take those with lunch later." Instead, I'm going to bed that night saying "Damnit I forgot to take my vitamins!" I know it's supposed to take something like 21 days to start a habit. And I know that with anything you try to do consistently, there will be setbacks. Maybe I'm a bit of a perfectionist. I need to do it every day, and do it right, or it can't count for anything. I will say I was using the bout of pertussis I suffered in March as a great excuse for why I slacked off on things. But it's now the end of April. Enough. I want to get to the point where I can eat breakfast every day and if I skip a day for whatever reason I don't feel guilty about it. But right now I can't. If I skip I feel guilty and get mad at myself and it gets easier and easier to skip on the next days because I figure if the system is already thrown off it doesn't matter. But I will try to get better. I've taken my vitamins for two days now and eaten breakfast for two days and I started writing in my journal again last night. So I hope at my next check-in I can feel much better about myself.

But on a GREAT note, I have gone almost 60 days without pop!!!!!  I may have become a bit of that annoying person. You know the one, the one who doesn't eat or drink something and gets a bit snooty about it? In trying to plan my sister's wedding shower I may have told her I didn't want pop at it because I don't drink and I would rather not have it kicking around the house afterwards. She was cool with it, but even as the words were coming out of my mouth a part of me was standing back and saying, "Really Summer? Oh dear God get over yourself!" But I still feel very proud of myself. I may not have been a regular pop consumer (I drink coffee WAY more) but it was something I was determined to cut out of my life and I did.

Looking toward the future, I have planned a vacation and will be going on it next week. While there I plan on going to an aquarium, so be looking for those blogs. Also, I have bought a pair of wedge sandals and will hopefully get a chance to wear them soon, if the weather ever cooperates. And I get my e-mails from The Cinema every week so maybe I'll be lucky enough to go to a double feature this summer and get that done as well. Thank you for reading my blog and being excited about my 101. I love the support!!! Until next time, or as Jason and Grant would say, "On to the next..."

No comments:

Post a Comment